I swore I wouldn't be like those people that make a blog and go strong for a few days and then a year later it's still that same post. So let's do this!
Okay, so last Saturday it was just another do-nothing-chill day at work until...... one of my co-workers was playing this little time waster called Bejeweled 2. Now, I have definitely heard about this little gem of a game (haha, see what I did there? "gem") but I had never actually played it. I was immediately addicted. I mean, at least at work, I have real stuff to do when I'm at home (e.g. Rock Band). Anyway, it soon came up that the furthest any of us cashiers had ever gotten was to level eleven. Challenge accepted. I'm happy to report that by Monday's eve, my eyes had been graced by the view of what is none other than the level sixteen view. 'Nuff said.
Now, work is a little ironic because I usually get staffed at the customer service counter, and I like to think that I am the least qualified student employee for that job because I simply have an extremely low tolerance for... I dunno.... people? Anyway, use either of these phrases as a "conversation" starter when walking up to my register and you will have immediately ticked me off.
Phrase 1: "Well you just look so bored/You look like you need something to do!"
Oh, so you're the knight in shining armor come to rescue me from the tower of nothing-to-do? Go have someone else ring you up, I'm playing Bejeweled.... What do you want me to say?
Phrase 2: "You just look so excited to be here!"
I know, similar to phrase 1, but even just reading this text, I know you can feel the words drenched in last decade's sarcasm. I'm obviously not excited to be here because now I have to ring up your useless junk that you absolutely must have while convincing you that my job is fun and that my life is at least satisfactory. Are you gonna use that razor blade? Because if you don't stop trying to salvage this conversation, I will.
Oooo, that was dark. Sorry.
Enough of work. Wait nevermind. One more story. So, because I work at the BookStore, I get to "borrow" my textbooks for the semester. Anyway, I really love to go downstairs and walk down aisles of print gathering bundles of pulp that bring me such joy. Not. So I pre-ordered them so that they would all be pulled for me and I could just come in one day and pick them all up and put it on my book loan account. Sounds reasonable right? WRONG! The BookStore is unreasonable. Turns out, if you pre-order your textbooks, they must charge your student account in order for the books to be pulled. Whatever, I obviously want to cancel that order right? A simple call to the friendly textbook department should patch things up in a jiffy. What do you mean you have to transfer me to another department? You guys are the textbook department, you're filling the orders, cancel mine! Anyway, the phone was not picked up at the location I was transferred to. So I take of business the Bert Grabinger way. Here's where it gets real... Yeah, I sent a very polite email with my full name and NetID so that they could cancel my order at their earliest convenience. Done deal. I hope.
But this brings me to some email issues I've recently encountered. A U of A staff listserv thingy got hacked yesterday and an extremely offensive email was sent out to almost EVERYBODY. Needless to say, if you got an email with a subject line about some goat man or whatever, DO NOT, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES, OPEN IT. I swear, there are just some things you cannot "un-see." Best of luck to all of you.
My other run-in with electronic communication this week was a little less unnerving, but still depressing. In our Priesthood Quorum, we're working on this covert operation to contact everyone whos records we have in the ward in an attempt to clean them up before the semester starts. I got paired up with one, Brennan Kartchner, a loveable goofball with a taste for flashy rock and shocking theatrics. I took it upon myself to break down our unfortunate assignee's first wall of defense... with a non-agressive email. I simply explained the situation to these people in the most polite of tones. Of course, I got about half of them to respond, however, one lady was out of control rude. She basically clawed out my hope for humanity with her vicious, vicious words. Of course, I was nothing but polite in my response but in my mind I was like, "Lady, where do you get off? I don't know you, you don't know me, how could you harbor such prejudice?" But then again, I don't pretend to understand anyone's circumstances. All I'm saying is, One of my relatives better have killed one of your relatives long ago and you recognize my last name. That is the only reason such sass could even be remotely appropriate.
Enough of internet injustice. Let's talk about real justice. That's right, I'm talking about Batman Begins. My praises can not even begin to do that film justice. It's truly a masterpiece. Anyway, my friend, Amy, had never seen it, or the Dark Knight for that matter (I know right!? I was like, OMGwherehaveyoubeenliving?underastupidrock?) So we watched it. Afterward, I walked home. Let me paint a picture for you. It's midnight, I live in a sketch part of town, I just watched Batman. Oh yeah, you but I searching to take on any group of bloodthirsty thugs I can lock eyes with. But alas, not a soul was to be found on my walk home. Not even a car drove by. Whatever. I heard people closing doors and locking them as I walked by anyway. They were so scared.
I made a new friend tonight! JK, it's an old friend, but now we're besties. This girl, Luna, is literally in love with me. Who can blame her? Anyway, she could basically have any old pick. Seriously, she is absolutely gorgeous, and playful too. I don't know why she would even pay any attention to me... especially after my history with her owner. Oh yeah, Luna is a dog. Anyway we just bonded after watching The Dark Knight at Amy's and she would curl up in my lap, I would pat her head, she would paw my fingers, I would lick her fur... you know. Cute, cuddly stuff. I'm really happy we finally made a connection because when we first met, she would bark at me all the time. It got pretty annoying. But I guess I grow on people. Dogs too.
I'm going to try to share funny quotes from my life because they are just too good to pass up. So in closing, here ya go.
Sean: "What's purple in Spanish?"
Amy: "Lilac?"
Bert & Kirstin: ".... : \" <----- We said that.
Deuces.
No comments:
Post a Comment