Monday, July 2, 2012

Six month mark!!

Oh FawnRae,

HAHAHAHAHA, I love that picture of you two on the scooter.  It's awesome.  You don't look like Harry and Lloyd... Alyssa is only saying that cause of Doug's smile.  It's cool.  Don't listen to her.  What does she know about being fabulous?

Less than 25mph is a problem though.

Oh, the 'saved brigade' knew from the beginning that we were LDS missionaries.  That's why they stopped I'm pretty sure.  They were ridiculous; saying stuff like "It doesn't matter what religion you are, you just have to call on the name of Jay-zus (that's how they say it).  You could be saved and just have a mormon background.  I know a guy who's Buddhist and he's been saved..." or whatever.  You know?  Totally irrational.  You can't reason with these people.

I'm thinking about doing a 'Bible Quotes Beatdown Day' where I just murderize everyone who rejects us with Bible scriptures.  Like if people are like, "No thanks, get outta here"  I'd say, "Okay sir, read Luke 10:16 mmk?"  or if someone's like, "Well, I'd rather not, but you guys stay cool out there!" I'd leave them with, "No problem ma'am, go ahead and read James 2:16 for me okay?"  That'll do no good though... But I'd be having fun.

I got my Spanish nametag the other day.  It's pretty cool.  I haven't actually taught any investigators in Spanish yet, but we've role played lessons in Spanish at district meeting and whatnot.  I'm trying to get my hands on some standard works en espanol right now...  The Book of Mormon is really easy, but it's academic (or really proper) Spanish so it makes sense when I read it, but the language that people speak is a lot more informal so it's different.  I can knock out a chapter in El Libro de Mormon and understand it in about 20 minutes now, whereas I needed like 50 minutes two weeks ago.  It's a lot of fun.

I'll probably be transferred in a week though to an area with more Spanish teaching opportunities and a companion that already knows Spanish so that'll be better.  I'll get more experience actually speaking it.  But I'll probably be leaving the area, so all the people I've been teaching will just have to be baptized by someone else.  It's kinda a bummer, but whatever.

Dang!!!  I want to go on that zip line again.  That place is a blast!

Well, Elder Busch and I were biking around in triple digit temperatures this week, no big deal.  I think the heat got to Elder Busch though cause we locked up our bikes and he was about to walk away and I was like, "You missed.  You didn't lock your bike to anything."  He totally had just wrapped the cable around the pole and not even gotten his bike.  It was hilarious.  Everyone was having a heart attack about us being out and about in the heat and stuff and I was like "so............ are you going to invite us in then?  Seriously, I don't do this for funzies... I know that my message is true and 107 degree temperatures aren't going to stop me from trying to share it with you."

This lady we talked to this week was like "Well, I prayed about it, and I just feel like I need to stick with the Bible and learn my Bible better first.  I might sound crazy, but I want to go to seminary and do all that."  We tried to turn it around, but she wasn't having it.  Anyway, when we left I was like, "Well, lady, if you want to learn the things of God, you just need your scriptures, a sincere heart, and prayer.  You don't need to pay money to go to a school made by men to learn the things of God.  If you want help, go to lds.org and download the free study guides for the Old and New Testaments and go to town."  She was like, "You right, I neva thought o' it like dat."  Of course I'm right, call us when you're ready for truth...

Long story short,  I'm not entirely convinced that the field is white already to harvest cause I feel like I'm mostly just planting seeds, but it's a rewarding work nonetheless and I think I've learned to have joy with the little successes.  It's His work anyway so He's going to get all the glory.  No sense in trying to compete...

Speaking of successes though, I totally forgot to mention that the Yeager's came to church yesterday!!!!  It was awesome!  They said they enjoyed it and that they'd be coming back.  It was seriously the best fast and testimony meeting a missionary could ask for.  No weirdos AT ALL!!!  SahWEET!

Shay is ready for baptism, but she'll be out of town this weekend which is when we wanted to do it.  We're going to try to do it next Tuesday, just before transfers so that Elder Busch and I can baptize together.  Fingers crossed.  Her baby is doing fine and so is she.

Carnel, one of our other investigators, said that he would be baptized this week after we taught him about authority.  It'll take a lot of preparation for him though cause there's some commandments being broken and he's the youth president of his church right now and I don't think he fully understands that he's going to have to not do that anymore for him to be baptized.

Lisa's been uber busy so we haven't seen her in like 3 weeks now.  Communications are still positive though.

So yeah, some good stuff going on.  Slow, but sure progress.

That's all I got.  Six months this Wednesday (July 4th).  I'm going to try to get my hands on a Roman candle and destroy a tie.  Pics on the way!

Love,
Elder Grabinger

No comments:

Post a Comment